Teen (14+ Years)

When Texas enacted the Graduated Driver License Program it didn't change the basic requirements for obtaining a license.

It divided the requirements into two phases (Below) for those applicants under the age of 18. As long as you are between the ages of 14 and 17, you must enroll in a State Approved Driver Education program. Call the location nearest you to sign up for our next scheduled class!

Complicated schedule? Consider the Online Parent-Taught course.

Our certified professional driving instructors will help you master the basics, learn defensive driving techniques, and prepare for the driving test.  Our teen behind-the-wheel training covers everything on the driving test and all the situations you'll encounter on the road. Get one-on-one teen driving lessons tailored to your learning style. Behind-the-wheel training is required for teens in most states. Call the location nearest you to sign up for our next scheduled class!

Phase One (The Learner Permit)

1.) Complete the classroom portion of the teen driver education requirement at Rhodes Driving School.

2.) After 3 days, you may be eligible to apply for an Instruction Permit (commonly called a Learners Permit).

3.) Obtain and hold a valid Instruction (Learners) Permit for six (6) months if you are at least 15 years old. According to Texas law, you can sign up for driver education at 14, but you cannot take the permit test until you are at least 15 years old.

4.) Complete the in-car training of the driver education program. This includes 14 hours with a State Certified Instructor at Rhodes Driving School. Additionally, Texas requires that parents certify (this means signing a legal document) that driver education students have practiced driving an additional 20 hours outside of the practice and observation that they receive through our school. Get forms and more information about this new requirement at the local DPS office.

5.) You must turn 16 years old to apply for a Class C license. You must be 17 to apply for a Class A or Class B license.

Your Instruction Permit allows you to get practice hours on the road while still under the supervision of a passenger with driving experience. You must ALWAYS have someone in the front seat with you who holds a valid Texas Driver’s License and is at least 21 years of age for six (6) months.

Phase Two (A Provisional License)

Obtain and hold a valid Provisional License (with restrictions) for an additional six (6) months. On your provisional license, the restrictions will indicate when Phase Two of the graduate program expires (TRC 545.424 applies until MM DD YY).

Obtain a regular and unrestricted driver's license.

The following restrictions apply to your Provisional License (Phase Two):

You CANNOT operate a motor vehicle with more than one (1) passenger who is younger than 21 unless these passengers are also family members of yours.

You CANNOT operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 5 a.m. unless you are driving the car to attend work or a school related activity.

You CANNOT operate a motor vehicle while using a cell phone or other wireless communication device.